Nodame Cantabile Soundtracks: From anime to dramas to movies

Nodame Cantabile is one of my FAVOURITE anime and drama of all times ❤ Besides that, I really like their opening and ending songs so I thought I’d do a post as a tribute to that. 😀 I’ll also include some classical pieces I love that they showed in Nodame Cantabile 😀

ANIME

Nodame Cantabile

Opening song: Allegro Cantabile by Suemitsu and the Suemith. The song really expresses allegro cantabile, haha.

Ending Song 1: Konna Ni Chikaku De by Crystal Kay

Ending Song 2: Sagittarius by Suemitsu and the Suemith

Nodame Cantabile Paris-Hen

Opening : Sky HIgh by The Gospellers

The melody is actually taken from third movement( Allegro Scherzando) of Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 2. Below is the real concerto from the anime….

Ending: Tokyo et Paris by Emiri Miyamoto  x  Solita

This is actually one of my favourite songs from Nodame. I love the violin accompaniment. This is also actually a song with it’s melody derived from Ravel’s Bolero.

Nodame Cantabile Season Finale

Opening Song: Manazashi Daydream by Yuu Sakai
Ending Song: Kaze to Oka no Ballad by Real Paradis with Nodame Orchestra

This season’s OP and ED are actually my favourites too!! I love the OP because the song suits the scene of both of them going about Paris.

DRAMA

The opening is a rendition of Beethoven’s Symphony no. 7 by Hattori Takayuki. Unfortunately, I can’t find the Hattori Takayuki version so I just posted one which was from the drama itself.

Sonata for Two Pianos – W. A. Mozart. The first duet they perform together which brought Chiaki to understand Nodame more.

In the first season, they did Rhapsody in Blue by Gershwin which is also the ending song. One of the most memorable performances of the first season since it showed how S-Oke could make wonders with their best capabilities.


One of Nodame’s more angsty performance of Schuman’s Sonata in G minor, Op.22.

SPECIALS

The specials are two movies which are both filmed in Paris. I believe that the specials actually took a more mature tone. It was still humorous like the drama but our leads grow up and learn what music means to them. And of course, what they mean to each other 😀

This is the part where Nodame actually gets teary at Chiaki’s performance. At this point, she sees how good he is and feels like she is lagging behind. I think this is where she is motivated to do better.

This song is actually one of the major conflict in the story. I really loved the song when Nodame initially heard it and wanted to be the first song she would perform with Chiaki. Then, Rui had to come and take away that dream instead. So it was heartbreaking to watch this part. 😦 Btw, it’s Ravel’s Concerto in G major

A turning point for Nodame as she debuts with Chopin’s Piano Concerto No.1 . And she gains overnight fame as well. Here, she is the star, not Chiaki like always. However, it’s evident she plays it with anger and slight sadness at not being able to be on stage with Chiaki for her first.

Chiaki tries to bring back Nodame to piano-playing with the song they duet in the drama before. It’s obvious that things has change and how their performances have changed as well. But it’s soo touching how they attempt to reconnect again 😀

These are just a handful of songs from Nodame. They actually perform MUCH MORE songs although I picked those that I felt were meaningful to plot development. I love to relate songs to the story progress 😀 Hearing all this songs make me nostalgic and maybe I’ll marathon the drama and specials the third time… (о^ω^о)

2 thoughts on “Nodame Cantabile Soundtracks: From anime to dramas to movies

  1. jandoe says:

    Suddenly find myself missing Nodame (I am so random…) so I went on a quick Google/blog-lurking spree haha and ended up here – what a pleasant surprise! Thanks for this compilation 😀

    PS Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

