Anime on watch: Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on Titans)

I haven’t been watching anime much of these days but my friend recommended Shingeki no Kyojin or Attack onTitans. The reason why I gave up on anime was because most anime produced of lately are much on the sci-fi end and so clean and polished. The animation IS getting better but it lost some old school touch. So, I turned to dramas. But back to Shingeki no Kyojin, the latest buzz in animeland, so I hear.

Attack on the Titan is set in a world where the remains of the human population live inside cities surrounded by enormous walls due to the sudden appearance of the Titans, gigantic humanoid creatures who devour humans seemingly without reason. The story centers around the life of Eren Jaeger and his adoptive sister Mikasa Ackerman, whose lives are changed forever after the appearance of a colossal Titan brings about the destruction of their home and the death of their mother. 

-Excerpt from Wikipedia-

Titans and humanoid sounded sci-fi, that’s until you watch the thing. The whole setting seems like 17th or 18th century old but of course they are equipped with some artilleries, the best known, 3-D Maneuver Gear. That’s really their only hope in attacking the titans since the titans can only be killed from behind at the nape of the neck.

First episode shows Eren Jaeger and how he is motivated to join the Recon Corps ( elite soldiers that battle Titans specifically). He witnesses a Titan   make lunch out of his mother which is quite horrendous. In fact the anime is quite gory. The titans are modelled to have human body, naked and 5 to 15 meters high. There’s a titan that reaches 60 meters high, he’s like the big boss.

I didn’t really like how the child Eren had huge eyes, it made him look quite scary. He isn’t exactly good-looking either. haha. But he’s the hero so what the hell with appearances. His adoptive sister, Mikasa, is the kick-ass heroine. No, they aren’t shipped romantically YET. Mikasa has strong urge to be responsible for Eren and his safety because he is family. It’s really role reversal where the sister protects the immature brother. It’s funny that there’s a scene where their friend Armin gets bullied and the bullies run away when they see Mikasa approaching behind Eren. They know who they’re messing with.

Eren decides to enter training as a cadet and of course Mikasa and Armin joins him. Eren is described as a dilligent student who really works his ass to get to where he needs to be. Mikasa is the top of the class prodigy, not just academically but physically. I tell you, she is Eren’s guardian angel. That girl can kick-ass. “Girl-crush moment” . Armin is weaker but a theoretical strategist.

I won’t give out any spoilers now even though I’m on episode 8. It’s good so far but I hope it won’t drag on because nowadays I can’t bring myself to commit to anything more than 20 episodes.

The icing on the cake has to be the opening song, Guren no Yumiya. JAEGER! XD The lyrics are impressive and suits the anime very much. Feels like a battle may start anytime soon…

6 thoughts on “Anime on watch: Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on Titans)

  1. heisui says:

    OMG OMG OMG!!!! I LOVE THIS ANIME!!!!! The manga is also great, I’m so happy it is now an anime! I think all of the characters are really well-rounded. Even though I don’t like Eren as much…somehow I actually like Jean better than Eren. O_O”” But I even like Armin, he really proves his worth as the strategist. And of course…Mikasa is my favorite. 😉

    It’s animes like these that make me proud of anime. In a sense I ‘moved on’ from anime to dramas, but then again I can never really forget them. If there is an epic anime I will still watch it! >:3

Leave a Reply

